Skip to content

Author back story: eleven things about me…

November 16, 2010

When you’re a writer, you create great lives for your characters, personal histories, quirky family members, secret desires, hopes, dreams. As an author, you know more about your characters than the reader does. Today, here’s a little back story on me, the author:

  1. I came within inches of touching a baby rattlesnake at Little Bighorn, the site of Custer’s last stand.
  2. I’m a morning person. Everything that’s worth doing, I want to do in the morning. Unfortunately, I run out of morning before I run out of “to dos,” so I have to prioritize. Writing comes first.
  3. I wrote my first “novel” at age 10. It was a mystery set at a campground. I had never been camping at the time I wrote it. I say “novel” because my recollection is that it was 30 hand-written pages.
  4. I’ve traveled to quite a few places in the world. China is my favorite. It changed the way I view travel.
  5. I started my career as a newspaper reporter. I’d guessimate I’ve written over 1,000 newspaper articles.
  6. The heroine in my current work-in-progress, “Disciplining Emma” works as newspaper columnist who engages in some unethical behavior to get her story. It comes back to bite her in the butt.
  7. I’ve lived in four states and visited or passed through thirty-eight. Most of the settings in my novellas and novels are set in fictitious California locales, even if I don’t name it as such.
  8. I’ve experienced two major earthquakes in my life. I happened to be out-of-town at a writer’s conference during a third.
  9. I’m athletically challenged. Unfortunately there’s no special program for this.
  10. I’ve been bowling for five years. I’ve gotten better, but I’m still not good. (See #9).
  11. I like reality shows. Survivor is my favorite. I’d like go on Survivor except I’d be one of the people who sits out most of the challenges and/or would be voted out early. (See #9).
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

