Skip to content

Me and my Kindle…honeymoon’s over, but marriage still strong

December 11, 2010
tags:

For better and for worse, I still love my Kindle. But like any good marriage, there are ups and downs.

Five months and 45 e-books later, I’m still pleased with my Kindle. I wouldn’t go back to paper.

Topping my list of favorites in the number one position is the instant gratification I get when I buy a book. The ability to order a book anywhere, anytime can’t be beat. I buy at least twice as many books as I ever did, but I actually spend a little less, because of my second favorite thing…

Freebies. Kindle offers a number of free reads, which helps to offset the costs of the books I do buy. I was pleasantly surprised to find that there are even free erotic romances available. In addition, publishers such as Ellora’s Cave offer freebies, which I can load onto Kindle. Before I pay actual money for a book, I get the free sample, which gives me a pretty good idea of what I’m buying, saving me from mistakes.

My third favorite thing is the general user friendliness and comfort of Kindle. I recently read an actual paperback I’d been meaning to read for while and found it quite cumbersome to hold and keep the pages open compared to reading on Kindle. You’d think it would be impossible to improve upon a book…but Amazon did.

Because the fonts are scalable and I can make the type larger…I think I’ll be even be able to delay getting bifocals due to Kindle. Yay!

But just like finding out your beloved leaves the cap off the toothpaste, my experience with Kindle isn’t totally rosy…

Kindle is fantastic for reading novels and other works of fiction. Nonfiction books with a lot of charts and graphs…not so much. It might be different on the larger DX version, but the Kindle I have is too small to see a chart or graph in full. You can change the view from portrait to landscape, and that helps somewhat, but you still can’t see the entire chart.

I would hesitate to buy another nonfiction book on Kindle.

I miss being able to highlight key passages and to locate something in the text by simply flipping through it. Yes, you can electronically mark passages, but it’s saved in a separate file and it’s not the same as being able to flip through pages and spot your markings. Also, when I want to reread a specific passage I haven’t marked, it’s more cumbersome to scroll through Kindle than to skim through a book.

But, all in all, I’d say “I do” all over again.

 Related Kindle posts

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 3:45 pm

    Thanks for the review. This girl has been bothering me about a Kindle for months. All I can think of when I hear it is “kindling” – to which I immediately begin to burn that booty.

    But alas, Christmastime is here and your post is very valuable. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

