Skip to content

My favorite erotic romance books of the year…

December 13, 2010

With the close of another year, I find myself reflecting on the best the year had to offer…the best books that is. And specifically, erotic romance.

As I look over the novels and novellas on my Kindle, one thing became clear: certain books I remember vividly, others, while enjoyable at the time, are already forgotten. The books I’m going to list are the ones that stand out in my mind. These are the “keepers,” some that I might even reread because I enjoyed them so much. What these books share in common is that they are all well-written with good solid stories and are hot!

These books weren’t necessarily published this year, that’s just when I read them. These are my top picks:

For humor and eroticism…Training the Receptionist by Juniper Bell

When ever-cheeky Dana applies for the receptionist job at Cowell & Dirk, she has no idea how significant her “other related duties” will be, but she proves she’s game for anything.  Many erotic romances have flashes of humor, but this book was hilarious from beginning to end—and still erotic. The boss/clerical assistant BDSM theme is not an uncommon one, but in this novel it’s handled uncommonly well by Juniper Bell. The heroine has a very unique voice that makes this book an absolute delight to read. It’s ties for first place as my absolute favorite book of the year.

For uniqueness and creativity…La Queue de Cheval by Michele de Lully

Angie desires to become a bejeweled, pampered plaything of a rich man. She wrangles a position at the Bathshire Stables, a kinky sex club for the titled and wealthy in hopes of seeing her dreams come true. This book gets high marks for some unique and creative sexual role play, specifically “pony play” (and I DON’T mean sex with equines!).  I won’t spoil the surprise, other than to say I doubt that I would ever have thought of something like this. I’m not this creative or daring. I don’t know if I’m disappointed or relieved by that…

For guts and poignancy…Willing Victim by Cara McKenna

The rape fantasy is still common, but giving it rein and writing about it is still taboo. Cara McKenna handles it deftly and with poignancy in her erotica novel Willing Victim. Laurel is intrigued by blue collar amateur boxer Flynn, when he rescues a woman from being assaulted. When she learns he’s turned on by really rough sex that mimics rape, she’s game enough to give it a try. Despite the violence of their sexual acts, there’s an inherent tenderness to Flynn that is very touching and poignant. This erotica novel ties for first place among my favorites.

For goodness and wholesome fun…Librarian by Day by Paige Tyler

Jennifer is an extremely shy librarian who writes erotic spanking stories under a pseudonym. When her boyfriend Nik discovers her secret he decides to surprise her. Pretty soon shy Jennifer isn’t nearly as shy. I loved the concept of this book. If this were a movie, I’d call it a “delightful romp.” It’s a fun read from beginning to explosive end.

For a pleasant mix of history and kink…Seeking Truth by Francesca Hawley

Marriage to Lord Eaudin Kemp rescues healer and psychic Verite from the evil clutches of a nasty nun at the convent, where her father had banished her as punishment. I don’t read many historical romances, but I really liked this one and it made me a Francesca Hawley fan. It’s wonderfully written, and for a historical, delightfully kinky. Thumbs up.

For variety and fun…Spank! By DL King

This erotic spanking anthology came out the same time as Spanked!, the anthology that contains two of my stories, which is why I read it. Spank! (like Spanked!) offers a nice compilation of well-written spanking stories by a variety of authors…a little something for everyone. DL King is the editor and author of one of the stories. My favorite story in the book is “Elementary, My Dear Sir” by Anna Black, a historical mystery. Lady Rowena Fairchild was acquitted of the murder of her late husband. However Inspector William Maxwell doesn’t believe she’s innocent and takes it upon himself to spank the truth out of her…

And those are my favorites. I keep a running list of books I’ve read (click on the tab in the header), which will be erased and begun anew in January. I also write short reviews (click on book reviews on the sidebar) of books I like.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 6:45 pm

    Wow, thanks so much, fellow Cara! I’m so flattered you chose to count me among your 2010 faves. I hope you have a fabulous New Year full of tons more books (yours and others).

    Cara McKenna

  2. Jeanie permalink
    March 17, 2011 2:14 am

    Willing Victim is the only one in this list I’ve read, and I totally agree! I’ve seen it mentioned on some other blogs too. Definitely gutsy writing, and it’s really cool to see Cara here too! Like I said I haven’t read the others, but I’ve been on a bit of an erotic books binge, so I’ll definitely check them out. Thanks!

  3. Emma permalink
    January 17, 2012 2:08 am

    Hi, I’d definitely recommend “Finding Home” by Bonnie Dee and Lauren Baker. Very poignant, passionate and intimate, and also witty and funny at times. My favorite erotic romance novel ever !

Leave a Reply

