Skip to content

I write…therefore I walk

January 3, 2011

Last year I walked more than 1,500 miles.

What does walking have to do with writing? For most authors and other people with sedentary jobs, nothing.

But it should.

When I’m on a roll and the words are flowing (or not flowing as it sometimes happens), I spend six to eight hours a day sitting at my computer. To do that day after day, is not a healthy lifestyle.

So I walk.

Every day, rain or shine, I log 10,000 steps or 4.25 miles. Every day.

I get about half that amount just doing my daily business: getting the newspaper, checking the mail, letting the cats in, letting the cats out, grocery shopping, vacuuming, etc. The other 5,000 steps or roughly two miles I get by applying my feet to pavement as I walk around my neighborhood.

I keep track of my steps with a pedometer. I put it on as soon as I get up in the morning. Beyond measuring how much and how far I walk, a pedometer provides a great gauge of how much I move around in general. I think of it this way: I walk at a moderately fast pace. It’s not an oh-no-I’m-going-to-miss-my-plane sprint, but I don’t dawdle. Walking 10,000 steps all at once would take me about an hour and twenty minutes.

So basically, in any 24-hour period, I’ve only moved around for about an hour and a half.

It kind of puts that 10,000 steps or 4.25 miles in perspective.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    January 4, 2011 12:52 am

    Now that’s a good idea! I have never kept track, but I try to park farther from entry doors, take stairs instead of elevators, walk down the hall to a colleague’s office rather than pick up the phone. The little things do add up!

    • January 4, 2011 1:22 am

      Hi Sara! You’re right. The little things so add up. I also park at the end of row at the grocery store. I’m amazed at how many steps I get when vacuuming.

Leave a Reply

